IAIS Multilateral Memorandum of Understanding (MMoU)

The IAIS Multilateral Memorandum of Understanding (MMoU) is a framework that establishes a formal basis for global cooperation and information exchange among insurance supervisors. Before signing the IAIS MMoU, Members undergo a rigorous review process. The IAIS Signatories Working Group (SWG) manages the application and approval process.

Currently, 77 IAIS Members are signatories of the MMoU, accounting for more than three-quarters of the global insurance sector (measured by gross written premiums).

In 2021, the IAIS published an updated set of MMoU Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs). The MMoU FAQs were initially developed in April 2013 to provide information on the background, features, and procedures of the IAIS MMoU. The IAIS has revised the MMoU FAQs to consider current supervisory material and other relevant developments, as well as to reflect additional insights from the IAIS membership.

Key documents

MMoU Signatories

  1. MMoU Signatories listed alphabetically (by jurisdiction)
    1. Albania Financial Supervisory Authority, Albania (March 2022)
    2. Superintendencia de Seguros de la Nacion Argentina, Argentina (December 2020)
    3. Australian Prudential Regulation Authority, Australia (October 2009)
    4. Financial Market Authority, Austria (February 2010)
    5. Banque Nationale de Belgique / Nationale Bank van België, Belgium  (December 2011)
    6. Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA), Belgium (May 2015)
    7. Bermuda Monetary Authority, Bermuda (June 2009)
    8. Superintendencia de Seguros Privados (SUSEP), Brazil (March 2014)
    9. Financial Services Commission (FSC), British Virgin Islands (June 2011)
    10. Financial Supervision Commission, Bulgaria (October 2016)
    11. Autorité des marchés financiers, Canada (Québec) (March 2015)
    12. Office of the Superintendant of Financial Institutions, Canada (July 2012)
    13. Cayman Islands Monetary Authority, Cayman Islands (June 2011)
    14. Comisión para el Mercado Financiero (CMF), Chile (June 2012)
    15. Insurance Authority, China, Hong Kong (June 2012)
    16. Autoridade Monetaria de Macau, China, Macau (November 2011)
    17. Financial Supervisory Commission, Chinese Taipei (June 2009)
    18. European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA) (July 2016)
    19. Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) (Prudential Supervision and Resolution Authority), France (October 2009)
    20. Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin), Germany (June 2009)
    21. Financial Services Commission, Gibraltar (April 2015)
    22. Guernsey Financial Services Commission, Guernsey (October 2010)
    23. Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority, India (May 2013)
    24. Central Bank of Ireland, Ireland (February 2013)
    25. Isle of Man Financial Services Authority, Isle of Man (July 2012)
    26. Capital Markets, Insurance and Savings Authority, Israel (November 2013)
    27. Istituto per la Vigilanza sulle Assicurazioni (IVASS), Italy (November 2012)
    28. Financial Services Commission, Jamaica (April 2018)
    29. Financial Services Agency, Japan (June 2011)
    30. Jersey Financial Services Commission, Jersey (October 2010)
    31. Astana Financial Services Authority (AFSA), Kazakhstan (September 2020)
    32. Financial Supervisory Service (FSS) & Financial Services Commission (FSC), Korea (November 2019)
    33. Financial Market Authority, Liechtenstein (September 2012)
    34. Central Bank of Lithuania, Lithuania (September 2011)
    35. Commissariat aux assurances, Luxembourg (July 2012)
    36. Bank Negara Malaysia, Malaysia (April 2015)
    37. Malta Financial Services Authority, Malta (October 2010)
    38. Financial Services Commission, Mauritius (December 2013)
    39. Comision Nacional de Seguros y Fianzas, Mexico (June 2010)
    40. De Nederlandsche Bank, The Netherlands (November 2009)
    41. Reserve Bank of New Zealand, New Zealand (January 2015)
    42. Komisja Nadzoru Fiansowego - KNF (Polish Financial Supervisory Authority), Poland (July 2012)
    43. Qatar Financial Centre Regulatory Authority, Qatar (June 2012)
    44. Financial Supervisory Authority (ASF), Romania (February 2010)
    45. The Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia), Russia (January 2018)*
    46. Monetary Authority of Singapore, Singapore (June 2010)
    47. National Bank of Slovakia, Slovakia (April 2015)
    48. Insurance Supervision Agency, Slovenia (September 2019)
    49. Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA), South Africa (November 2016)
    50. Prudential Authority, South Africa (November 2016)
    51. Capital Market Authority, Sultanate of Oman (February 2018)
    52. Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA), Switzerland (September 2011)
    53. Turkish Insurance and Private Pension Regulation and Supervision Authority, Turkey (March 2013)
    54. Abu Dhabi Global Market Financial Services Regulatory Authority, United Arab Emirates (October 2018)
    55. Dubai Financial Services Authority (DFSA), United Arab Emirates (October 2010)
    56. Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), United Kingdom (June 2012)
    57. Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA), United Kingdom (June 2012)
    58. California Department of Insurance, California, USA (14 August 2014)
    59. Connecticut Department of Insurance, Connecticut, USA (February 2012)
    60. Delaware Department of Insurance, Delaware, USA (April 2015)
    61. ​Office of Insurance Regulation, Florida, USA (November 2015)
    62. Iowa Division of Insurance, Iowa, USA (March 2015)
    63. Louisiana Department of Insurance, Louisiana, USA (June 2020)
    64. Maine Bureau of Insurance, Maine, USA (March 2015)
    65. Maryland Insurance Administration, Maryland, USA, (February 2017)
    66. Department of Insurance and Financial Services, Michigan, USA (January 2015)
    67. Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions & Professional Registration, Missouri, USA (March 2015)
    68. Nebraska Department of Insurance, Nebraska, USA (April 2013)
    69. New York State Department of Financial Services, New York, USA (September 2016)
    70. Ohio Department of Insurance, Ohio, USA (March 2018)
    71. Oklahoma Deparrtment of Insurance, Oklahoma, USA (October 2017)
    72. Pennsylvania Insurance Department, Pennsylvania, USA (November 2014)
    73. Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance, Tennessee, USA (February 2017)
    74. Vermont Department of Financial Regulation, Vermont, USA (March 2017)
    75. State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance, Virginia, USA (August 2014)
    76. Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner, Washington, USA (September 2012)
    77. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance (November 2018)* The access of the Central Bank of Russia to all IAIS services, meetings and other IAIS activities has been suspended.