Helen Rowell

Deputy Chair, APRA

Helen Rowell was appointed as Deputy Chair of APRA in November 2015, and reappointed for a further five-year term from 1 July 2018.

Helen joined APRA in 2002 as General Manager, Industry Technical Services and held a number of senior roles, including in supervision, policy development and supervisory support, prior to her appointment as APRA Member, with primary responsibility for superannuation, from 1 July 2013. Helen assumed primary responsibility for insurance from 1 July 2021, and in April 2022 added the cross-industry portfolio to her responsibility.

Helen is currently Chair of the Council of Financial Regulators’ (CFR) Climate Working Group, represents APRA on the International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS) Executive Committee and has been appointed as the IAIS Diversity, Equality & Inclusion champion. Helen has previously represented APRA on various IAIS sub-committees, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s Working Party on Private Pensions, as President of the International Organisation of Pension Supervisors, on the Financial Security Board’s Supervisory Intensity and Effectiveness Group and as co-Chair of the Joint Forum Financial Conglomerates Committee.

Prior to joining APRA, Helen was a partner at the international consulting firm Towers Perrin; she is also a Fellow and past President of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia.